Understanding the Difference Between Assault and Battery

Some jurisdictions draw a distinction between assault and battery. In those jurisdictions, assault is generally defined as the threat of bodily harm that reasonably causes fear in the victim. Battery, in contrast, is generally defined as unwanted physical contact that causes harm. To simplify, assault is when a person is threatened with harm or violence and battery is when that threat turns into action. Actual physical contact is not necessary for assault in these jurisdictions, so threats and intimidation can qualify.

Unlike other jurisdictions, Texas takes a unique approach to assault and battery. Instead of differentiating between the two, both assault and battery are charged as assault under Texas Penal Code Section 22.01. This means that even if you do not actually touch another person, you can still be charged with assault.

In Texas, the crime of assault requires a person to intentionally, knowingly, or recklessly:

  • Cause bodily injury to another
  • Threaten another person with imminent bodily harm
  • Engage in physical contact with another when the person knows or can reasonably believe that the victim will find the contact offensive or provocative

Texas further breaks down the crime of assault into different classes of misdemeanors and felonies. The severity of the charge can depend on several factors including, but not limited to, whether a weapon was used, the criminal history of the person charged, the relationship of the parties, and the occupation of the victim.

  • Class A misdemeanor: known as “simple assault” because aggravating factors aren’t present, this charge means that the assault did not lead to serious injury or death, no weapons were used, and the victim was not the spouse of the person charged, a civil servant, or an elderly individual. The punishment for simple assault is up to one year in jail and a maximum fine of $4,000.
  • Class B misdemeanor: this charge occurs when someone assaults a victim who is participating at a sporting event, or the assault was based on the outcome of a sporting event. This charge is punishable by up to 180 days in jail and a maximum fine of $2,000.
  • Class C misdemeanor: a person will be charged with this offense if they threaten to cause bodily harm or injury to another or they make physical contact with the victim in a way that is provocative or offensive, without any aggravating factors. This crime is punishable by a fine of up to $500.
  • Aggravated assault: if the victim was seriously injured and the perpetrator used a weapon, they will be charged with aggravated assault.
  • 1st degree felony: if the assault was against someone with whom you have a domestic relationship, or an informant, witness, police officer, public official, emergency worker, or security guard. This is punishable by a jail sentence ranging from 5 years to life and a fine.
  • 2nd degree felony: if the assault is committed against someone with whom you have a domestic relationship, you’ve been charged with assault before, and the offense involves the use of choking or a weapon. This is punishable by a jail sentence ranging from two to 20 years and a maximum fine of $2,000.
  • 3rd degree felony: a person will be charged with a 3rd degree felony if the victim was a public servant, government official, security officer, or emergency services personnel, which carries a jail sentence of up to 10 years and a maximum fine of $10,000.

Let us defend your rights and freedom

At Frankfurt Law Firm, PLLC, we understand that a criminal charge can have a serious impact on our client’s life. That’s why we provide experienced and passionate criminal defense to all of our clients. To receive your free phone consultation, please contact our office at (214) 775-5050, or visit us online at http://www.frankfurtlaw.net.

What to Consider When Developing a Fair Visitation Schedule

Developing a fair visitation schedule is an important part of your family’s transition to a new phase in life. It is important to divide time with the child as evenly as possible, while working within the confines of each parent’s schedule. Above all else, the visitation schedule should be fair to the child as well as each parent. By being reasonable and respectful of everyone’s needs, you can develop a visitation schedule that will help your child thrive while encouraging a healthy relationship with your child’s other parent.

Parent schedules

The first step in developing a fair visitation schedule is to consider both parent’s schedules. If one or both parents is employed, consider the following:

  • Number of hours worked each week
  • Commute time
  • Work responsibilities outside of regular office hours
  • Flexibility, such as working from home or adjusting hours worked
  • Vacation days
  • Scheduled days off for holidays
  • Work-related travel

In addition to work schedules, the parents may have other children for whom they are responsible, as well as other family and life obligations. For example, if one parent volunteers once a month or has another child who has regular baseball games, these additional responsibilities should be factored in as well.

Child schedule

Children lead busy lives and their schedules should be a large part of developing a fair visitation schedule. If your child is of school-age, consider the following:

  • Times the child will be in school
  • Transportation to and from school
  • Activities
  • Medical or dental appointments
  • School trips, camps, or other educational-based
  • Time off school for holidays, breaks, and summer
  • Meeting with teachers, coaches, etc.

If your child is not old enough to attend school and both parents are employed, child-care options and related logistics should also be taken into account.

Holidays, breaks, vacations, and special occasions

There will be times such as holidays, breaks, and special occasions, that will require special consideration when formulating your visitation schedule. Parents should aim to split major holidays and breaks as evenly as possible. If your child is of school-age, keep in mind when his or her breaks are as well as your own schedule during that time. For vacations and special occasions, be respectful by giving the child’s other parent as much advance notice as possible.

Frankfurt Law Firm, PLLC, works hard for Dallas families

At Frankfurt Law Firm, PLLC, we understand that developing a fair and workable visitation schedule is a key part of transitioning as a family after a divorce or separation. Our talented legal team is dedicated to helping our clients with all of their family law needs. To receive your free phone consultation, please contact our office at (214) 775-5050, or visit us online at http://www.frankfurtlaw.net.  

The Risks of Talking to the Police—Even If You’re Completely Innocent

Some people mistakenly believe that they are legally obligated to talk to the police whenever asked. Whether intimidated by the power and authority that police represent, or driven by the desire to help law enforcement in their community, talking to the police can have serious consequences for even innocent parties. Too often, by talking to the police, someone will incriminate themselves in a crime or agree to a warrantless search of their vehicle or premises because they are unaware of their legal right to refuse.

People approached by the police not only have the legal right to refuse to talk to the police without a lawyer, it is in their best interest to refuse to speak to the police without the presence of a lawyer.

There are many reasons why talking to the police without a lawyer is a bad idea. For example, you may mistakenly give misinformation or be tricked into giving accounts of events that could make you appear to be involved in the commission of a crime. Further, law enforcement agents are trained interrogators: when faced with such expertise, many citizens are ill-equipped to verbally spar with a professional. Finally, by talking to the police without an attorney, you are at the mercy of the officer’s memory of the conversation, which can be faulty or even purposely construed to place the blame of a major crime on you.

It is far easier to avoid saying anything incriminating with the help of an attorney, than to hire an attorney after self-incrimination has occurred. In the worst-case scenario, a simple mistake in the retelling of information on your part may lead to you being falsely charged with a serious crime. To best protect your own interests, it is vital to never speak to the police without the representation of an attorney.

Protecting the rights of Texas residents

Frankfurt Law Firm, PLLC is dedicated to protecting the rights of Texas residents in the Dallas area against being questioned by the police without attorney representation. To learn more about your rights when being questioned by the police and for a free phone consultation, please contact our office at (214) 775-5050 or visit us online at http://www.frankfurtlaw.net.

Why You Always Need an Attorney to Fight Your Legal Battles

Is it worth representing yourself to skip the lawyer’s fee? It may be tempting to think of the money you’ll save when you forgo your right to an attorney, but in reality, you stand to lose a lot more without one. The specialized education, training, and experience of a lawyer often pays for itself, helping you avoid the serious consequences of a legal issue gone wrong. Whether you’re involved in a divorce, a criminal case, or another legal matter, you should understand the massive benefits you can reap with the help of an experienced lawyer.

Avoiding a “Messy” Divorce

A lawyer’s assistance can prevent you from adding considerable stress and hardship to a divorce that is already emotionally taxing to begin with. Do you have the time to research legal information, prepare forms, and meet deadlines while taking care of yourself and your children? While these tasks can be difficult for those without a legal background, many attorneys can do them without breaking a sweat. A lawyer can also help you take a more neutral or collaborative approach with your ex-spouse and their lawyer, allowing you to make fair decisions about things like property division, spousal support, and child custody. If your situation is complex in terms of property, debts, or assets, an attorney will be better equipped to protect your interests. Overall, the best family lawyers know how to turn a potential legal “battle” into a legal solution.

Criminal Cases Have Consequences

It’s inadvisable to divorce without an attorney, but it’s downright dangerous to attempt a criminal case without competent legal representation. Many types of legal infractions stay on your criminal record indefinitely, affecting your ability to find employment and housing, among others. On top of that, the penalty for your specific charge could involve fines, community service, a driver’s license suspension (in the case of traffic offenses), or jail time. Even a minor offense could affect you for the rest of your life. A criminal defense attorney can usually predict the likely punishment for your crime, help you decide whether to plead guilty or not guilty, argue the merits of your case, and give you better chances overall.

The Perils of DIY

In any legal matter, the commitment a do-it-yourself approach puts you at a clear disadvantage when the other party has an attorney. If you represent yourself in a criminal court, you risk making incriminating statements that can later be used against you. Even if you are totally innocent of the charges, your mistakes could land you in serious trouble. In the case of a divorce, you may find yourself overwhelmed with the amount of work that is really necessary. An experienced lawyer will be familiar with court rules and procedures, understands the court’s expectations in terms of forms and deadlines, and knows how to work under pressure.

The Best Defense

When it comes to divorce without a lawyer, you stand to lose your money, your home, and even your children. In a criminal case, representing yourself could mean sacrificing your livelihood or your freedom. When you work with a lawyer, you don’t have to take any unnecessary risks. Call the knowledgeable family law and criminal defense attorneys at Frankfurt Law to maximize your chances of success. We will always represent your interests and defend your rights to the fullest extent of the law.

6 Tips to Help You Ease the Burden of Divorce Stress for Your Children

When it comes to divorce, no two households are the same. You can’t predict exactly how your family will function after a divorce, but you can come close—and you can help prepare your children for the changes ahead. Children don’t show stress in the way we might expect as adults. Consider acting on these tips to remind your little ones they are safe and loved, even when their parents are apart.

  1. Maintain a Neutral Line of Communication

Divorce is a stressful and emotional experience, but you should always do your best to stay on good terms with your ex. Your children are still affected by your relationship, even if you’re not as close as you once were. You might consider keeping in touch via email, an informal but neutral format, and use it strictly to let each other know how the children are doing. It’s a comfortable way to keep your ex informed, and it sets the tone for conversations you may later have over the phone or in person.

  1. Give Your Children an Outlet

If you have the means, you may want to look for therapy or counseling sessions geared towards children or teenagers. It can work wonders for young children who may need an outlet for their frustrations, and for older children who may want an opportunity to discuss their concerns with a neutral party.

  1. Be Honest (Within Reason)

More than anyone else, your children look to you and their other parent for answers. Don’t dismiss their questions and concerns when they come up. Do your best to offer them an age-appropriate explanation of your divorce. Younger children usually do better with a simplified explanation, while older children may want to know more details.

  1. Avoid Confrontation

The most important label you can give yourself after a divorce is “co-parent.” Now that your split has been made official, you can ditch a divisive attitude in the interest of cooperation. Do your best to keep arguments away from the children. Use your tact and good judgement to avoid a hostile tone and phrasing, and walk away if you think a fight is brewing.

  1. Establish a Routine

Children do better with structure, especially in the face of a major change like divorce. Make sure they are braced for any changes they might encounter: not just the divorce itself, but also their living situation or their need to change schools, for example. Try to keep your parenting schedule as structured and reliable as possible to avoid confusion and unnecessary stress.

At Frankfurt Law, we believe a divorce lawyer should do more than file your paperwork. We understand that there is a family behind every divorce, and that with the right approach, these families can live happily under a new arrangement. Call our attorneys for an informed and compassionate approach to divorce law.

How Does a Custody and Visitation Proceeding Work in Texas?

Child custody and visitation proceedings generally follow the same structure, though they can vary depending on your situation. In the state of Texas, the legal term for custody is conservatorship, and the term for visitation is possession and access. Parents must get court orders to name a parent with the right to custody and a parent who has the right to visitation. Parents might face changes to child custody in the midst of a divorce, but there are other scenarios in which custody and visitation rights could change. For example, custody could change in light of a Suit Affecting Parent-Child Relationship (SAPCR), a paternity establishment order, or an emergency order involving the Department of Family and Protective Service (CPS).

You must generally file for custody in your child’s home state, or the state where your child has lived with a parent or guardian for at least the past six months. If you are divorcing the child’s other legal parent, you will find provisions for your child’s custody, support, and visitation in the final divorce orders. If you are separated from the child’s other parent, you can get a court order for custody and visitation by contacting the Attorney General’s Office.

In some scenarios child custody can be uncontested, in which case you both agree on the terms. Alternatively, custody can be contested, which requires you both to reach a decision in court. Judges decide on custody and visitation based on a number of factors, and in the end they must come up with an order that reflects the child’s best interests. If the child is 12 or older, the judge can interview with the child to see if he or she prefers to live primarily with a particular parent. Children under 12 may be interviewed, but it isn’t necessary. The judge may consider the child’s wishes but is not obligated to follow them.

A judge will generally try to have both parents share the responsibility of raising their child, granting them both frequent contact with the child unless there is sufficient evidence of family violence, child neglect, or abuse. In order to determine custody and visitation rights, judges will try to determine answers to the following questions, among others:

  • Can the parents prioritize the child’s welfare and make decisions together in the child’s best interest?
  • Can each parent encourage a positive relationship between the child and the other parent?
  • Did both parents raise and rear the child together before they filed the suit?
  • Do the parents live geographically close to one another?
  • Are the parents both in good health?
  • What do the parents’ finances look like?

If the child is 3 years old or younger, the judge will consider an even greater range of factors. These relate to the child’s physical, medical, emotional, developmental, economic, and other needs, as well as each parent’s ability to provide for those needs. Because a stable home environment, parenting situation, and routine is so crucial to a child’s early development, a judge must prioritize the needs of children above those of their parents.

If you’re seeking a court order for child custody or visitation, you deserve to have an established lawyer to guide you through the process, the Frankfurt Law Firm is here to do just that. Call anytime to take advantage of our professional legal guidance. We will make sure the outcome serves both your interests and the best interest of your child.

Benefits of a Revocable Trust

Estate Planning Worksheet

I thought I would share the following article since it is excellent.  I have convenient locations in Frisco and Dallas. Call me to discuss if a revocable trust is right for you! (214) 775-5050 or e-mail grant@frankfurtlaw.net

by Kristin L. Brown

Clients who are contemplating their estate plan often assume that they need nothing more than a will, and they are often skeptical when presented with the idea of making a revocable trust rather than a traditional will the centerpiece of their estate plan. Many people mistakenly assume that trusts are only appropriate for ultra-wealthy individuals who need complex tax planning. In reality, a revocable trust offers a multitude of benefits for nearly every type of client.

Reduction of Texas Probate

If a client fully funds his or her revocable trust during life, there is a strong possibility that there will be no need for probate following the client’s death. Although the Texas probate process is relatively simple, there is still value in saving the time, court costs, and attorneys’ fees associated with it, especially when probate court dockets across the state are as congested as ever. Even if probate cannot be avoided altogether, muniment of title proceedings are much more likely to be an option for the estate of a decedent who had the bulk of his or her assets in trust. Probating a will as a muniment of title allows the persons handling the estate to forgo the requirements of an independent administration, such as providing various notices to creditors and beneficiaries and preparing an Inventory, Appraisement, and List of Claims.

Elimination of Ancillary Probate

While failing to avoid Texas probate is unlikely to have dramatic consequences, the same cannot be said for states like California, where probate is notoriously costly and time-consuming. For clients who own property in other states, eliminating the need for ancillary probate is critical. A client who places his or her out-of-state property in a revocable trust will ensure that there is no need for probate proceedings in a potentially unfavorable jurisdiction. In our increasingly mobile society, it has become commonplace for our clients to move to other states. While clients should still seek a review of their estate plan by local counsel after a move, a client with a fully-funded revocable trust will, in any event, have a significantly lower risk of subjecting his or her estate to a costly probate process.

Privacy

Many clients prefer that their friends and family not know the exact details of their estate plan, especially if they opt to disinherit certain relatives or provide for them in disproportionate amounts. Once a will has been filed for probate, it is part of the public record and available for inspection by virtually anyone with internet access. A revocable trust, in contrast, is not required to be filed with the court, so a client can protect his or her privacy by including all of the key dispositive provisions of the estate plan in a revocable trust instead of a will. In conjunction with the revocable trust, the client will also need to execute a pour-over will that provides for all of his or her directly held assets to pass to the trust post-death.

Ease of Management

A Texas will signing ceremony requires two witnesses, a notary, and several steps that inevitably manage to befuddle some unsupervised testators and even the occasional attorney. Even when done correctly, sometimes it is simply a hassle to execute a new will or codicil when all a client wants to do is make a minor change to his or her plan. Amending a revocable trust, however, requires at most a notarized signature. There is often no need for the client to sign a trust amendment in the attorney’s office.

Continuity of Management

As more people are living longer, the need to plan for incapacity is more important than ever. A revocable trust, especially when funded, is an excellent tool in this regard. Should a client become unable to manage his or her own affairs, a new trustee can step in and immediately begin managing the trust for the client’s benefit, potentially avoiding the need for a guardianship proceeding. While a Durable Power of Attorney has traditionally served a similar purpose and is still an important part of an estate plan, it may be deemed unacceptable to a financial institution due to the age of the instrument or its policy requiring that its own form be used. Conversely, financial institutions are typically more receptive to dealing with successor trustees, making a revocable trust a more dependable guardianship alternative in most cases.

Kristin L. Brown is an associate at Davis Stephenson, PLLC

What Happens When You’re Arrested for a DWI in Texas?

If you’re arrested for a DWI in the state of Texas, don’t panic. You are not guaranteed to be found guilty even if the circumstances give you a grim outlook. With care and thorough preparation, you can significantly reduce your chances of a conviction, or at least reduce the penalties. Follow these important steps to make sure your bases are covered before you enter a court of law.

Step 1: Hire an experienced attorney

This is instrumental in securing lighter penalties or an acquittal on your DWI. While you might think it’s cheaper to represent yourself, that decision could have a monumental impact on your future. Consider the typical penalties for a DWI: you could face hefty fines, imprisonment, community service, mandatory DWI education programs, and a license suspension or revocation. Your insurance provider could also hike up your rates or even cancel your coverage. These outcomes can impact your livelihood and put a huge strain on your finances. A criminal defense attorney who is well-versed in DWI cases can help you avoid the worst.

Step 2: Return to the scene

If there was an accident at the location of your arrest, you should immediately take detailed photos of every vehicle involved. If that’s not possible or not relevant, make sure you return to the location within a day or two—the sooner the better—and take some photos or videos of your surroundings. You’re looking for evidence of damaged property, tire marks, broken road signs, and anything unusual that might have something to do with your arrest. Your attorney can give you more tips on where to look.

Step 3: Document the circumstances

Write down your account of the arrest, and the events leading up to it, within 2 to 3 days. You’re more likely to remember the details if you do it sooner. You’ll want to document the 24 hours leading up to your arrest in detail, including everything you ate and drank, how much sleep you had the previous night, whether you had health issues or took medications that day, everyone you were with, and everything you did. If you can add the approximate times to every entry, you’ll end up with a more precise account.

Step 4: Speak with your witnesses

You should meet up with everyone who was with you throughout the six hours before your arrest. Get their recollections of that day, like in the account you wrote for yourself, and see if they can remember anything that might help your case. If more people can corroborate your story, you’re more likely to seem credible in front of a judge or jury.

Step 5: Appeal your license revocation

Even if it was your first offense, you most likely had your driver’s license suspended with an Administrative License Revocation (ALR). You must request an appeal or hearing within 15 days of your arrest. Since your ability to drive can impact your ability to work, take care of your children, and more, you should get an attorney to file the request on your behalf.

Step 6: Prepare for court

Once you’ve documented the events leading up to your arrest, you’ll also need to figure out an approach to your DWI charge. Will you plead guilty or not guilty? Has the prosecution offered you a plea bargain? Your lawyer will be able to look at all the facts and help you come to the best possible decision. They will also advise you on the best way to prepare for court, supporting your credibility and the strength of your defense.

It’s clear that a DWI conviction can severely impact your driving record, your finances, and your livelihood. A skilled lawyer can help you prepare the best possible defense. Contact Frankfurt Law Firm to get the thorough, professional, and aggressive legal representation you need to fight the charges effectively.

Mine, Yours, and Ours: Community Property and Divorce in Texas

Under Texas law, community property is defined as all assets that a couple acquires during the course of their marriage. It does not include:

  • Property that each spouse owned while still single
  • Inheritances left to one spouse only
  • Gifts provided to one spouse
  • Recoveries for personal injuries, with the exception of any awards for lost earnings

Texas is one of nine community property states, meaning that all marital property is assumed to be owned equally by both spouses and must be divided evenly in the event of divorce. Judges follow the “just and right” principle when distributing marital property, which does not always add up to a crisp 50-50 split.  Factors taken into account include:

  • which spouse has primary custody of the children
  • the earning potential of each party
  • whether or not adultery, abusive behavior, and other negative factors ended the marriage

In most situations, the distribution will correlate with an even split, but judges can vary at their discretion. The objective is to be fair, not mathematically precise.

Marital Property: a Broader View

Marital property is not confined to purchases and acquisitions that a couple makes together. A lot of married people think that buying something and registering it in their name only keeps it separate and not subject to division during a divorce. The reality is that if you purchase a house, car, or other assets while married, it’s communal, regardless of whose name is on the deed.

Any interest that one spouse accumulates in an employee benefit plan such as a pension or profit-sharing system is also community property. Like other assets, they do not have to be divided on an exact 50-50 basis. For examples, if both the husband and wife have their own pensions or retirement accounts, the court may let each spouse keep their own account, especially if the value of each one is similar.

Perhaps the most challenging asset to divide in a Texas divorce is a business or professional practice. Even if one spouse owned either one prior to getting married, any developments that took place afterwards are community property that must be split accordingly. Business appraisers and certified public accountants are usually hired to determine the value of this kind of asset and prepare a report that will guide the court’s decision.

When Properties Commingle

When assets are commingled, separate property can become part of the marital estate. For example, if the husband receives a gift of money from a relative and uses it to repair the marital home, that money joins the value of the home. To preserve the separate identity of each spouse’s property, it should be maintained in its own financial account or be titled to one spouse only (in the case of property acquired before the marriage).

Educating yourself on how Texas law defines and distributes marital property is essential for anyone contemplating divorce. The Frankfurt Law Firm, PLLC will advise you on your rights in this regard and help you preserve as many assets as possible once the divorce action finally commences.

Look Before You Leap: 8 Things Every Couple Should Know Before Getting Divorced in Texas

Choosing to get a divorce is one of the most difficult decisions anyone will ever have to make. While there are many factors that need to be considered, the legal aspects of a divorce should certainly be known before moving forward, and it is essential that you understand the nuances of the jurisdiction in which you are considering a divorce. Every state has its own laws on how a divorce can and will be handled, so you should familiarize yourself with those procedures in order to understand what to expect. The following eight items, for example, should be fully understood by any couple considering divorce in the state of Texas.

No-Fault Divorce

The laws in Texas allow for a divorce to be listed as no-fault, but unlike many other states, there is also the option to list who is at fault and why. The courts can take fault into account when dividing assets, so in many cases it is very smart to identify the party that caused the divorce.

Types of Fault

When filing an at-fault divorce, the reasons that can be listed as grounds for divorce can include adultery, cruel treatment, abandonment, one party has been confined to a mental health facility (for a minimum of three years), incarceration for one year or longer, or living apart for three or more years.

Divorce Takes Time

In the state of Texas, couples cannot get a divorce finalized for at least 60 days after filing the papers with the courts. Many divorces will actually take significantly longer due to the complexity of the process.

Dividing Assets

Texas is a community property state, which means that the courts begin the process of splitting assets with the assumption that all assets earned or acquired by both spouses during the marriage are owned equally by the two. If some assets should be considered separate property, the parties must present clear evidence to support that claim.

Texas Residency

In order for a couple to file for divorce in the State of Texas, at least one of them must have been a resident for a minimum of six continuous months. At least one of the spouses must have also been a resident of the county in which they want to file for divorce for at least 90 days.

Potential for Permanent Spousal Support

Spousal support (aka alimony) can be awarded, and in some rare cases it can be awarded on a perpetual basis. In order to be awarded permanent spousal support, the receiving spouse must meet one of four conditions:

  • Violence – The receiving spouse must be the victim of family violence within the past two years (the offending spouse must have been convicted of this violence).
  • Disability – If the receiving spouse is unable to adequately provide for their own needs by working because of a disability (physical or mental) and the marriage was 10 years in length or longer.
  • Child Care – If a child of the marriage has special needs that require a parent to stay home with them on an ongoing basis, and the marriage lasted 10+ years.
  • Inability to Earn – If the receiving spouse is unable to get employment sufficient to support themselves due to an inadequate labor market, and the marriage was 10 years or longer.

Alternative Dispute Resolution

While the courts need to be involved with the divorce process, they don’t need to make the decisions. Many couples are turning to alternative dispute resolution methods such as mediation to come to an agreement on as many issues as possible. This can save time, money, and heartache before, during, and after the divorce.

Putting Children First

When determining physical and legal custody of children, Texas courts always attempt to put the best interests of the kids first. This means they will attempt to make rulings that will foster a strong and healthy relationship for the children with both parents.

Never Divorce on Your Own

If you decide that divorce is the right decision for you, make sure you don’t try to go through it on your own. Contact Frankfurt Law Firm, PLLC to talk with an attorney and make a plan on how you should proceed.